Nidderdale Junior Cricket League

Click here to edit subtitle


It was Harrogate’s day at the recent Kettlewell Fuels Nidderdale Junior Cricket League (KFNJCL) Under 9 and Under 7 Coad Cup Finals, with two Harrogate teams winning the hard-fought tournaments.

As usual the sun shone at Studley Royal Cricket Club on Sunday 19th June 2022 where the Under 9 Coad Cup Finals were held. This year, an impressive 28 teams entered with eight teams qualifying for Finals Day including Beckwithshaw, Bilton, Harrogate Hawks, Harrogate Roosters, Kirk Deighton, Ouseburn, Ripley and Whixley.

In the final, a strong Harrogate Hawks side batted first, totalling 303, with Rory Mountain top scoring with 28. In reply, Beckwithshaw clocked up 224 after losing several wickets.

At the presentation Ken Coad, League Chairman, thanked Kettlewell Fuels for their continued support and sponsorship, and all the players and coaches for providing such a fine day of cricket. Presenting the medals, Ben Coad, Yorkshire opening bowler, also signed autographs for the players at the end of the presentation ceremony.

For the U7 tournament, which took place on 26 June 2022, also at Studley Royal CC, nine teams took part including Birstwith, Harrogate B, Helperby, Knaresborough, Knaresborough Forest, North Stainley, Pannal A, Studley Royal and Whixley.

After some impressive cricket from the junior teams, the final took place with Harrogate (265) beating Knaresborough Forest (236) in what turned out to be an exciting match.

Commenting on the results, Janet Kettlewell from Kettlewell Fuels, sponsor of the Nidderdale Junior Cricket League said: "Many congratulations to all of the teams who’ve taken part, it’s been fantastic to see so many clubs joining and we’ve definitely seen an increase in numbers compared with 2021.

"As North Yorkshire's trusted independent heating and fuel oil supplier, supporting the local community in which we operate is important to us. Having been involved with grassroots cricket for many years, sponsoring the League allows us to reach even more teams locally – roll on next season!”

L-R: The winning Harrogate teams  U9s  and U7s